For as long as I can remember I have loved creating. When I was younger I took sewing lessons, scrapbook and card-making classes, candle making, and loved any opportunity I was given to be creative on school projects. For whatever reason there was a disconnect between that joy of creating and what I thought my career should be; I didn’t think there was a way to incorporate my creativity in a legitimate career.

I majored in History and Secondary Education in college and absolutely loved creating lessons plans, projects, and an environment that was welcoming for my students. I did not love the politics, the stress and the fact that (in my mind) nothing was ever good enough. While I was definitely able to use my creativity, I was not happy.

Fast forward to Spring 2016 and I was provided the opportunity to work as an assistant planner for Hospitality Democracy in Milwaukee. In a sort of serendipitous moment I realized event planning was the perfect way to utilize my creativity in a productive way that made me happy. After a few months of working as an assistant it was evident the department was growing and there was room for me to come on full-time (yay!).

These past few months have been a whirlwind of learning everything about a new company, career, and clients – but it is amazing! I am challenged to think creatively, problem solve, learn, and grow as a professional. Every. Single. Day.

Cheers,

Christine

IMG_4430
One of my first events at Onesto in Milwaukee’s Historic Third Ward
